Entitled Respect

Entitled respect? What exactly does that mean? That is the question I have been asking myself for days. I had read an article in the newspaper about a young lady who has filed a lawsuit against her parents for monetary damages for disrespecting her by kicking her out of their home. Now mind you, this girl is 18 years old. Old enough to get a job, earn money and live her live as she chooses. Apparently, the reason she was “kicked out” from her parent’s home was due to her inability to follow their rules and restrictions imposed by them. So, she is suing them for damages. REALLY?????????? 

Look, I was raised by Bible thumping, God-fearing, flag saluting parents who only told me ONE TIME what the rules were and if I broke them, there was no lawsuit, no child abuse case, no intervention, no anything BUT discipline. My parents did not worry about infringing on “my rights”, nor did they worry about my feelings of feeling disrespected/ What concerned them was simple. They wanted a raise a child who respected others and themselves. Period.  I will tell you what I was entitled to; obeying my parents. My father would say ” You will not do this again. You will obey us, OR ELSE”.   That sentence “obey us, or else“…….well, we as kids knew we did not want to know what the “or else was!

Imagine the lives of the elderly in our society. They lived through the toughest times.They over came great obstacles and hardships and have lived long healthy lives. The stories they tell about working in factories at the age of 12 to support the war efforts, about working on the farms before and after school to make ends meet for the family and about how tough times were “back then”, makes me wonder if the upcoming generation would have survived such harsh conditions.    

Entitlement.    That’s the problem with every aspect of society today. Everyone is “entitled” to something.  The other day I was correcting an employee in regards to her work performance. 

 

Upon sharing with her the things she needed to do differently, she stated, “I am not going to stand here and allow you to disrespect me by telling me what I do wrong. I have rights.” Hmmm. Disrespect? I thought it was called employee counseling. I didn’t yell, curse, mock or do anything to the employee but calmly explain to her what I needed for her to change. That was it. She stormed out of my office, angry, demanding an apology from me. She told all of her co-workers what I had said and brought the workforce to a new level of discord. Employees stormed about the facility wondering “who I thought I was” to do what I had done. What did I do exactly???????
Maybe society is changing the rules, I don’t know. But you what? I believe respect is not an entitlement. I believe it is EARNED. Yes, earned. Earned. Maybe it is me that is wrong about this whole thing. Maybe I don’t know the definition of the word….. So to double-check myself, I looked p the word respect in the dictionary.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________
re·spect [ri-spekt] Show IPA
noun
1.
a particular, detail, or point (usually preceded by in ): to differ in some respect.
2.
relation or reference: inquiries with respect to a route.
3.
esteem for or a sense of the worth or excellence of a person, a personal quality or ability, or something considered as a manifestation of a personal quality or ability: I have great respect for her judgment.
4.
deference to a right, privilege, privileged position, or someone or something considered to have certain rights or privileges; proper acceptance or courtesy; acknowledgment: respect for a suspect’s right to counsel; to show respect for the flag; respect for the elderly.
5.
the condition of being esteemed or honored: to be held in respect.

(source http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/respect)
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Well, that certainly cleared it up for me; I now know that respect means privilege. Hmmmm. Ok, so it is me. I am too old school, old-fashioned and stuck in the old days of where everything was earned. Words like integrity, morals, value and of good character have been replaced with entitled respect. I see.
So society will continue changing and evolving. Kids will sue their parents for having made them obey them. They will sue when they have been disrespected by not having the latest sneakers, video games, big screen TVs or fancy cars. Maybe 9 year olds can sue their parents for making them eat their green beans……..
I don’t know. Sometimes I do wish the world would stop evolving so much and go back to a time when we all earned our way in life……..a time when respect was valued and achieved, not expected and demanded.

4 thoughts on “Entitled Respect

  1. Well, she is correct about one thing. She doesn’t have to stand there and take it. She can walk away from the job. If she does not meet expectations, fire her. Unless she is in a union (which I do not think she is else a steward would have been present in your exchange), then you have the right to fire her based on her disrespect of your authority.

    Sounds to me like firing her might actually teach her to respect those over her. That being said, I now have to share this with you:

    Ephesians 6:9 KJV
    “And, ye masters, do the same things unto them (your servants), forbearing threatening: knowing that your Master also is in heaven; neither is there respect of persons with Him.”

    Respect is actually still earned, regardless of what society thinks as it conforms to the whiny adolescence of the day. You give respect, you’ll get it. So, remember that your employees were given unto you by the Lord and that you are to treat them as though you were interacting with Christ. I’m sure you have been. Don’t lose heart. Let Christ work through you.

    God bless.

    Like

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more! I find many of the new nurses coming onto my unit having a huge sense of entitlement. If it werent so annying, I’d almost laugh! Same goes for the kids! If they have no discipline as children, they will have none as adults! Great piece! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

