Traffic Snarl

 

 

Last night I needed to run out to the store. Traffic was jammed in every direction…angry car horns and brake-lights adorned every different road I tried. ” Something must be wrong with Interstate 95 again” I mumbled to myself, annoyed that a fifteen minute trip would cost me over an hour. I tried back-roads, side roads and main roads…..same outcome…I was making no progress. I  turned on the radio only to hear the radio announcer exclaim, “We have a mess out there tonight on the roadway. Interstate 95 is shut down due to a police activity from mile marker 152 all the way down to marker 120. Call in now with your request for the drive tunes hour!”  How exciting. This overly excited person wants angry people to call in and request songs? Imagine the choices….”Killing Them thenly””, “Highway to Hell”, “Break Stuff” and Desperato all come to mind. 

Miles and miles of glistening red lights. Hundreds of us trying to get somewhere to do something that we feel we need to do. We inch forward about a foot every five minutes or so….forward progress, yet slow progress. Suddenly, without warning, the cars in front of me all take off….20 MPH, (wohoooo, cruising speed), 35 MPH (yipee, kicking it now), 40, 50…(too good to be true)….60…(watch out sound barrier, here I come)……65… 70….exhilaration!  I am once again a happy camper and feel the need to call Mr. Joyful on the radio and request ” Party USA” to celebrate the moving traffic……..

The DJ came back on the radio…..I’m waiting for the “drive tunes” plea for song request to be called in, but instead he sounded sad.

We have some news about that traffic snarl south of DC. From our reports, we have learned someone jumped from the 95 Over-pass into oncoming traffic.  Reports coming in from motorist in the area are saying the person just appeared on the top of the bridge, and jumped intentionally. We will be following this story. Stay tuned.”

So very sad. I do not understand how anyone could intentionally do this. I would think that such an act requires extreme bravery, courage and utter determination to complete the act. We deal with death on a daily basis in long term care….it’s almost expected that someone will die…..but not tragically.

We all have some type of burden that becomes too much to bear at times, but I hope we all can manage to find a way, around or through the situation and not choose to end our lives. We all need to remember that somebody somewhere loves and cares about us, and by choosing to end our lives due to circumstances, we choose to leave them suffering our loss. We need to remember that WE MATTER….we are important…circumstances change every hour….final choices are final.

Just so sad.

 

4 thoughts on “Traffic Snarl

  1. First of all I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question
    that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your
    thoughts prior to writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints?

    Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

