Do Unto Others- Real Heros

I was scanning Sunday’s newspaper, looking at the help wanted ads. No, I am not looking for another job, but rather, I am just nosy. I like to see what the competition is looking for and what their pay scale looks like. This caught my eye:

Nursing assistant needed. 40 Hours per week. Must be able to lift 100 lbs min. Must be able to work various shift.Must have certification, CPR and First Aid. Two years experience required working with dementia patients. 8.75 per hour. Call XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Cashier needed. 40 hour work-week. Great benefit package. Starting at 12.00 per hour. All shifts available for fast paced grocery retailer. No experience required. Apply in person at…...

Wow. So let me get this straight. The person checking out my groceries makes money money than the staff at this nursing facility? The nursing assistant has to meet qualifications, have experience, work various shifts and be able to lift over 100 pounds. The cashier, well, hmmm, the cashier, rings up customers. There is something very, very wrong with this.

Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate every cashier I have ever encountered. Their service is the core of being able to check out of many stores. I am not downplaying their jobs by any means. I am saying, there is something wrong with a society who values purchasing items more important than providing care to humanity.

We see the controversy often with professional sports players vs. our men and women in the military. You will find that a typical football quarterback makes 16 million dollars a year, whereas a young front line soldier makes roughly $38,000.00 yearly.  Same concept as the nursing assistant and the cashier.

Society places the value of what  service is worth based on how much one is willing to pay, and how much profit can be shared down the food chain of corporate America.  For example, I am one fan of the Washington Redskin football team. I have key chains, lunch boxes, T-shirts, sweat pants, sweat shirts, flags, banners, bumper stickers, window magnets, throw rugs, shower curtains, bedspreads and baseball hats all displaying my pride in the Washington Redskins. I could easily pay the ticket price and attend all home games. My point is, I spend and spend on the Redskins fan zone. On the other hand, to date, I have mailed the USO a simple 25.00 donation. So, if we counted every Redskin fan, and count how much money we all dump into the fan zone, we could probably own the team. If we counted what we all give to charities, such as the USO, we might have enough to buy one wounded warrior a used car.   See my point?

We as a society value what profits us. Western Culture is unique in how we are the most advanced in every possible area, but yet so far behind on so many ways.  China for example, has passed laws that require family to visit the elderly and the sick. Japan has laws that require a person to visit those who are hospitalized. Their laws work to serve the collective group, whereas, here in the US, we are more individualistic. We serve to serve what serves us.

I find it very sad when we value the service of a grocery store clerk more than  the service of a health care worker, as evidenced by the pay scale.  Most health care workers did not decide to” jump into this field and work at it until something better comes along.” Most have years of service to the profession.  How many years of service do you think the grocery checker at your store has? Do you think it will be his/her career choice? Probably not. 

Some rewards are not always monetary, and that’s how we as health care workers must look at the grand picture. The reward of knowing that you are making  difference in another’s life, sometimes, that’s what really matters. 

I can’t change how anyone thinks. I can’t write laws, regulations, guidelines or do anything but promote treating each other better; showing my appreciation to the health care workers under my chain of command and, yes, I will be writing the USO another check.  

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“My own heroes are the dreamers, those men and women who tried to make the world a better place than when they found it, whether in small ways or great ones. Some succeeded, some failed, most had mixed results… but it is the effort that’s heroic, as I see it. Win or lose, I admire those who fight the good fight.” 
― George R.R. Martin

 

“Real heroes don’t wear capes or underwear over their pants. They wear combat boots and dog tags “.  unknown

 Luke 6: 31  ” Do to others as you would have them do to you.”     Jesus Christ

“I am not sure exactly what heaven will be like, but I know that when we die and it comes time for God to judge us, he will not ask, ‘How many good things have you done in your life?’ rather he will ask, ‘How much love did you put into what you did?” 

― Mother Teresa

Image“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” –  Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a Reply

